TV Schedule for Women’s World Cup Qualification

TV Schedule for Women's World Cup Qualification

The 2023 Women’s World Cup qualifying TV schedule has you ready to prepare for the biggest sporting event in women.

Like its men’s counterpart, the FIFA Women’s World Cup features teams from six different associations. Of course, each confederation has its own qualification method.

For the most part, each confederation sends teams that do well in continental competitions to the World Cup. For example, the Confederation of African Football (CAF) is sending four teams to the tournament to be played in Australia and New Zealand in 2023. These teams are the semi-finalists of the 2022 Africa Cup of Nations Women, as was the case before the 2019 Women’s World Cup.

UEFA World Cup Qualification

The only exception is UEFA. European qualification for the Women’s World Cup is similar to that of the men’s competition. There are nine groups in UEFA Women’s World Cup qualifying, one less than men’s. Each group winner advances to the knockout stage. Then the nine runners-up enter a playoff in which two teams advance. A team from the European playoff stage goes into an intercontinental playoff.

A total of 32 teams will travel to Australia and New Zealand for the month-long competition in July and August 2023. Here are the spots broken down by how many countries come from the different confederations.

confederation Qualifying Tournament places in the World Cup Places in the Intercontinental Playoffs
Uefa FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 (UEFA) qualification 11 1
AFC Asian Championship Women 2022 6 (Australia as host) 2
CAF Africa Cup of Nations 2022 4 2
CONCACAF 2022 CONCACAF W Championship 4 2
CONMEBOL Copa America Femenina 2022 3 2
OFC 2022 OFC Women’s Nations Cup 1 (NZ as host) 1

As we have seen, most places in the World Cup are decided about a year before the World Cup. However, three teams qualify through the playoffs.

FIFA Women’s World Cup Intercontinental Playoffs

There is also a playoff for men, but it’s much smaller than the FIFA Women’s World Cup. Ten teams take part in the competition, which serves as a test event for the World Cup in Australia and New Zealand.

These 10 teams compete for just three spots in single-elimination matches. The order of the matches depends on each nation’s FIFA Women’s World Ranking. The top two teams only need to win one game to advance to the 2023 World Cup. However, the other eight teams must all win twice to advance.

According to the first part of the qualification, the teams that qualify for the intercontinental playoffs are often determined from the previous year’s continental tournament. Again, UEFA is the exception.

Watch the FIFA Women’s World Cup qualifiers

The best way to watch teams qualify for the FIFA Women’s World Cup is through Paramount+.

Recommended view option:


Price: $4.99/month

Includes: Champions League, World Cup Qualifiers, more

7-day free trial

Paramount+ owns the rights to a number of qualifiers for UEFA. However, as the women’s game becomes more popular, not all games will be easy to watch.

Paramount+ is now offering a 7-day free trial for new subscribers, giving fans the opportunity to watch tons of football fans (and other content) for free.

TV Schedule for Women’s World Cup Qualification

Thursday, April 7th

Friday, April 8th

Saturday, April 9th

Tuesday, April 12th

Comments are closed.