The football coaches of the Colonial League call all-stars; Holmes, Frame are MVPs

The Colonial League football coaches recently announced their All-Star selections for the 2021 season, and rivals Northwestern Lehigh and Northern Lehigh share the Most Valuable Player Award.

Tiger’s senior quarterback Justin Holmes, a Kent recruit, was selected as the offensive MVP among the Colonial League programs that participated in a planning collaboration with the Schuylkill League this fall.

Holmes passed for 1,305 yards and 18 touchdowns and ran for 1,329 yards and 20 scores when Northwestern went 11-1.

Northern Lehigh senior Matt Frame was named a defensive MVP after collecting more than 55 tackles as a linebacker. On the running back, he rushed for 1,713 yards and 23 TDs, adding four TD receptions as the Bulldogs (11-4) reached the PIAA Class 2A semi-finals.

Below is the full list of the Colonial League All-Stars selected by the coaches.

Northwestern Lehigh’s Justin Holmes (5) rushes for a touchdown against Wilson on October 2nd.Saed Hindash | For

Football all stars of the Colonial League


First team

C: Ben Engle Jr., Bangor

Upper floor: Sr. Josh Hoffert, Notre Dame; Jr. Jose Fuentes Maldonado, Bangor

OT: So. Ben Walters, Northwest Lehigh; Jr. Aiden Compton, Notre Dame

TE: Sr. Logan Castellano, Notre Dame

WR: Sr. Zack Gillen, Wilson; Sr. Ty Csencsits, Saucon Valley

QB: Sr. Justin Holmes, Northwestern Lehigh (MVP)

RB: Sr. Matt Frame, Northern Lehigh; Sr. Kael Godshalk, Bangor

FB / Slot / H-Back: Jr. Cade Christopher, Northwestern Lehigh

ATH: Sr. Trevor Amorim, Northern Lehigh

K: Sr. Nick Garrido, Notre Dame

Second team

C: Jr Mason Ludlow, Notre Dame

Upper floor: Sr. Ben Dunstan, Northwestern Lehigh; Sr. Liam Riexenger, Palisades

OT: Sr. Alex Schäfer, Southern Lehigh; Jr. Jayden Krempasky, Northern Lehigh

TE: Sr. Tyler Houser, Southern Lehigh

WR: Sr. Damon Simpson, Wilson; Sr. Nadir Sanders, Notre Dame; Sr. Kyle McGrath, Palisades

QB: So. Matt Machalik, Palmerton

RB: Sr. Blaze Curry, Southern Lehigh; Sr. Damian Simpson, Wilson

FB / Slot / H-Back: Sr. Gabe Woolverton, Bangor

ATH: Sr. Dante Mahaffey, Saucon Valley

K: Sr. Jacob Christopher, Saucon Valley

Third team

C: So. Jackson Van Norman, North Lehigh; Sr. Cody Swinney, Saucon Valley

Upper floor: Cameron Shields Jr., Northwestern Lehigh; Sr. Jack Marouchoc, Saucon Valley

OT: Jayden Vilmenay Jr., Bangor; Sr. Anthony Cardona, Wilson

TE: Austin Smyth Jr., Northern Lehigh

WR: Sr. Tarif Muhammad, Notre Dame; So. Damian Tyminski, Pen Argyl

QB: Sr. Collin Quintano, Notre Dame

RB: Sr. Damian Garcia, Saucon Valley; Sun. Dalton Clymer, Northwest Lehigh

FB / Slot / H-Back: Jr. Anthonie Hunsicker, Catasauqua; Jr. Daniel Lucykanish, Palmerton

ATH: Eric Striba Jr., Bangor

K: Sr. Brett Misera, Northern Lehigh

PIAA Class 2A first round: Northern Lehigh vs. Lackawanna Trail

Northern Lehigh’s Matt Frame (35) tries the right side against Lackawanna Trail in the first round of the PIAA Class 2A Playoffs on November 19th.
Chris Shipley | lehighvalleylive


First team

DT: Sr. Alex Schaefer, Southern Lehigh; Sr. Anthony Silfani, Notre Dame

NG: Sr. Ryan Carroll, Notre Dame

EN: Sr. Drew Sabo, Northwest Lehigh; So. Jacob Weaver, Bangor

ILB: Tyler Pfizenmayer Jr., Saucon Valley; Sr. Matt Frame, Northern Lehigh (MVP)

OLB: Jr. Justin Holmes, Northwestern Lehigh; Jr. Ethan Karpowich, Northern Lehigh

DB: So. Matt Machalik, Palmerton; Sr. Taylor Wikert, Northwest Lehigh; Sr. Kyle McGrath, Palisades; Sr. Trevor Amorim, Northern Lehigh

P: Sr. Nick Garrido, Notre Dame

Second team

DT: Sr. Gabe Toth, Catasauqua; Sr. Ryan Gretz, Southern Lehigh

NG: So. Miles Melendez, Catasauqua

EN: Jr. AJ Jimenez, Northern Lehigh, Sr. Logan Castellano, Notre Dame

ILB: Well. Blaine Snyder, northwest Lehigh; Jr. Gian Greggo, Argyl Pen

OLB: Sr. Ty Csencsits, Saucon Valley; Sr. Gabe Woolverton, Bangor

DB: So. Josh Ludlow, Notre Dame; Wyatt Younes Jr., Catasauqua; Nick Frame Jr., Northern Lehigh; Sr. Brett Misera, Northern Lehigh

P: Sr. Gabe Woolverton, Bangor

Third team

DT: Sr. Luke Chidsey, Bangor; Sr. Nate Carr, Palisades

NG: Sr. Paul Burkholder, Bangor

DE: Sr. Tyler Houser, Southern Lehigh; Sr. Blaze Curry, Southern Lehigh

ILB: Sr. James Denicola, Palmerton; Sun. Dalton Clymer, Northwest Lehigh

OLB: Sr. Lucas Heydt, Palmerton; Jr. Cade Christopher, Northwestern Lehigh

DB: So. Damian Tyminski, Pen Argyl; Sr. Kael Godshalk, Bangor; Sr. Zakai Hendricks, Wilson; So. Jack Inglis, Southern Lehigh

P: Sr. Harrison Dailey, Palmerton

Our journalism needs your support. Please subscribe to today.

Kyle Craig can be contacted at

Comments are closed.