Matt McMahon named to semi-finalist list for Naismith Coach of the Year Awards

Murray State’s head men’s basketball coach is among some high-profile companies after being included in the 10-man semifinalist list for the Naismith Coach of the Year Awards.

McMahon is the only mid-major coach to make the list and he is joined by Mark Adams (Texas Tech), John Calipari (Kentucky), Ed Cooley (Providence), Scott Drew (Baylor), Steve Forbes (Wake Forest) and Greg Gard (Wisconsin), Tommy Lloyd (Arizona), Bruce Pearl (Auburn) and Kelvin Sampson (Houston).

The list will be reduced to four finalists on March 23rd and the winner will be announced on April 3rd.

McMahon’s seventh racer team, named 2022 Ohio Valley Coach of the Year, is 30-2 and clinched the title at the OVC tournament in Evansville last week. In the OVC regular season, the Racers became the first team in league history to win 18–0. MSU is 19th in the Associated Press and USA Today Top 25 polls this week.

Great coaches make great players, and McMahon’s trio of All-OVC picks are one of them KJ Williams, Tevin Brown and Justice Hill. Williams was OVC Player of the Year and Hill was named OVC Tournament MVP.

The Racers look forward to gathering with fans and supporters on Sunday to learn more about their NCAA tournament responsibilities. Doors to the CFSB Center open at 4:00 p.m. for a fun time and to see the unveiling of the field of 68 teams for the 2022 NCAA tournament on CBS Selection Sunday, which begins at 5:00 p.m. The first 1,000 fans will receive a free Ohio Valley Conference Championship autographed team poster.

Racer Basketball Legacy Fund

The new fundraising initiative invites racer supporters to make a lasting impact on Murray State’s men’s and women’s basketball programs. If you would like to learn more about how you can support the Racer Basketball Legacy Fund initiative, please contact Director of Development-Athletics, Taylor Mudd at (270) 809-3517 or for more information.

About Murray State Athletics
Murray State University‘s athletics department in Murray, Kentucky is a member of NCAA Division I and plays in the Football Championship Subdivision. The Racers have 15 programs, including men’s baseball, basketball, cross country, soccer, and golf teams and women’s basketball, cross country, golf, soccer, softball, tennis, track, and volleyball teams, as well as a mixed shooting team. The Racers are currently members of the Ohio Valley Conference and will join the Missouri Valley Conference on July 1, 2022.

Comments are closed.