Kyon Barrs added to Outland Trophy Watch List

Mike Christy / Arizona Athletics


Dallas, Texas – Arizona defender Kyon Barr has been included in the Football Writers Association’s Outland Trophy Watch List, the organization announced today. The 2022 season concludes on the 77th anniversary of the award, and the watchlist features a talented field of 89 athletes accompanying two returning FWAA All-Americans.

Barrs was named to the All-Pac-12 Second Team in 2021 after making 33 tackles for a loss and leading a team with five sacks. During his sophomore season, he placed eighth in sacks in the Pac-12.

The Murrieta, Calif. product was also added to the preseason East-West Shrine Bowl watchlist and the Lott IMPACT Trophy watchlists were announced in the last two weeks. During his Arizona career, he totaled 63 tackles, including 8.0 tackles for loss and 5.0 sacks.

Barrs and the Wildcats open the 2022 season on September 3 in the state of San Diego. Arizona’s home game is Sept. 10 against Mississippi State, kicking off at 8 p.m. at Arizona Stadium

The recipient of the 2022 Outland Trophy will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awardslive on ESPN on Thu 8 Dec 2023.

The Outland Trophy winner is selected from three finalists who are part of the annual FWAA All-America team. The FWAA All-America Committee selects a 26-strong first team and ultimately the three Outland finalists based on nominations from the entire membership. The members of the committee then select the winner by individual vote. Only attacking or defending centre-backs are eligible for the award. Ends are not eligible.

About the Outland Trophy
The Outland Trophy is the third oldest major college football award. The Outland Trophy was created in 1946 when Dr. John Outland presented the FWAA with a financial contribution to initiate the award. Since then, the Outland Trophy has been awarded to college football’s top interior designer. dr Outland, an All-American at the University of Pennsylvania in the late 1890s, eventually began his practice in Kansas City, Missouri. As an enthusiastic outdoorsman, Dr. Outland felt the linesmen weren’t getting the recognition they deserved and wanted an award to recognize them.

The Outland Trophy is a member of National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses college football’s most prestigious awards. The NCFAA’s 25 awards have honored more than 800 recipients since 1935. To visit for more informations.

Comments are closed.