Championship memories run deep for Murray State at the OVC tournament

The Murray State Racers will go into their 31st Ohio Valley Conference Tournament Finals in the 59thth Hosting the event when the top-ranked Racers (29-2) take on the third-ranked Morehead State Eagles at the Ford Center in Evansville, Indiana on Saturday. The 7:30 p.m. game will be broadcast live to a national television audience on ESPN2.

The Racers are 17-13 in OVC title games with recent wins in 2010, 2012, 2018 and 2019. Not only have the Racers won more than any other team in the history of the 17-championship event, they had their share Runners-up they had to endure 13 times. The bottom line is that racers are almost always chasing the OVC tournament title and have won more than they have lost.

The Racers and Eagles have met 14 times in the OVC tournament, where Murray State leads 12-2, with the Eagles having victories in 1984 and 2016. Murray State faced Morehead State once to win the title in 2010 when the Racers won 62-51 in Nashville, Tennessee.

With a win, Murray State Coach Matt McMahon joins Steve Newton as the only racer coach to take the team to three NCAA tournaments. Newton led the Racers to the NCAAs in 1988, 1990 and 1991.

Ford Center clear bag policy

The OVC tournament has a clear bag policy. As part of our ongoing commitment to safety and security, which aligns with best practices at major entertainment and athletics venues, the Ford Center now operates a Clear Bag Policy.

Racer Basketball Legacy Fund

The new fundraising initiative invites racer supporters to make a lasting impact on Murray State’s men’s and women’s basketball programs. If you would like to learn more about how you can support the Racer Basketball Legacy Fund initiative, please contact Director of Development-Athletics, Taylor Mudd at (270) 809-3517 or for more information.

About Murray State Athletics
Murray State University‘s athletics department in Murray, Kentucky is a member of NCAA Division I and plays in the Football Championship Subdivision. The Racers have 15 programs, including men’s baseball, basketball, cross country, soccer, and golf teams and women’s basketball, cross country, golf, soccer, softball, tennis, track, and volleyball teams, as well as a mixed shooting team. The Racers are currently members of the Ohio Valley Conference and will join the Missouri Valley Conference on July 1, 2022.

Comments are closed.